Mangosong breaks Aguilar’s dominion

featured image 851 x 313
Davao pride Rhowell Mangosong surprised the crowd when he outsmarted motocross legend Glenn Aguilar in the 3rd leg of Diamond Motor Corporation Motocross Series happened May 7 at Mx Messiah Fairgrounds, Taytay, Rizal.

Mangosong took the lead in the first three laps of moto 1 pro open category when the 41-year old Aguilar hit Mangosong’s leg then eventually lost his balance.


“Naging pang anim pa ako pero sabi ko pokus lang hanggang pumangalawa ako. Kaya ipinahinga ko ang sarili ko habang naghihintay ng moto 2 at nag isip kung paano ko makukuha ang pro open,” shared Mangosong, fondly called Bornok by his friends.


Though Aguilar bagged moto 1, Bornok kept his eye in winning moto 2. The 24-year old rider cleared all 12 laps of moto 2 dictating the tempo in the racetrack.

“I dedicate this to my mom and to my wife. Mother’s day din kasi and they were with me all the way,” said Mangosong, part of UA Mindanao team.

Aguilar tried not to lose grip but Bornok (1-2) broke the 16-time Rider of the year’s overall run winning streak (2-1) in his attempt to secure leg three.

“I was really expecting myself to step up and get this leg. Naniniwala ako na kumakarera ako para sa Panginoon at talagang best ang ipinapakita ko sa mga karo ko,” said Mangosong.

The neck-to-neck battle sponsored by Diamond Motor Corporation was even intensified when Glenn’s son Mclean stole the spitlight in the pro lites division as Pia Gabriel redeemed the ladies category from Janelle Saulog, winner of leg 1 and 2.

Other champs were Jing Leongson of the veterans category, Gelo Leonardo of the amateurs category, Roman Llorente of the executive class, Wenson Reyes of kids 50cc and 65cc and Ompong Gabriel of kids 85cc.

Meanwhile, locals Bhenvinido Torres claimed open underbone, Christopher Oberio grabbed local enduro as Dean Gabriel savored first in the MMF Academy.
The jam-packed race to resume leg four on May 21 is led by Generation Congregation with support from Wheeltek, Dunlop tires as the official Tires of the race, Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation, Coffee Grounds, Xtreme Adrenaline Sports Entertainment Co. and PTT Philippines Corporation.